Women Bloggers, Continued

After posting about being a female in the blogosphere, I really appreciated and resonated with Kathy’s post over at Creating Passionate Users.

An excerpt:

I am “one who blogs” (among many other things). I happen to be a woman. But I am NOT a blogHer, and my male co-author is not a blogHim.

I write code. But I am NOT a programmHer.

I write tech books. But I am NOT a writeHer.

I ride horses. But I am NOT a rideHer. (sounds vaguely sexual… never mind)

I am NOT a skiHer or a skateboardHer or a runHer.

I work on ecological causes, but I am NOT an enviHERmental activist.

And I am NOT typing this on my computeHer (even if it is, I must say, a sexy-yet-adorable black MacBook)

These are my passions, but they reflect the part of me that is about horses, running, skiing, skating, the environment, writing, or creating. If I relabel them to reflect my gender, I believe both (my gender and the labeled thing) are diminished by the “Her” qualifier.

Treat me like a person, thanks, breasts or no breasts, blog or no blog.

2 responses to “Women Bloggers, Continued

  1. “breasts per capita, baby” ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. Holy crap.

    Like the phoenix, the old nickname rises from the ashes.

    That’s crazy, Anon. Just crazy. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

