Imagine That

I got good and worked up this afternoon. The kind of worked up that makes you question what you’re doing, why you’re doing it, and who you’re doing it for.

Then I left and spent the rest of my afternoon and evening at the Denver Children’s Museum for their annual Trick-or-Treat Street, which gives kids a safe place to score unhealthy doses of sugar and then burn it off as they play and explore. And it was really cathartic.

I was especially moved when I saw a little girl dressed as Batman stick these words together on the gigantic magnetic board:

The brilliance is in its simplicity. A girl dressed in a traditionally male costume, seemingly stating the obvious.

I have been, in the past, fairly infamous for stating that I never wanted any girl children. Being a girl is challenging, humbling, and dangerous on a near daily basis. (And I’ll gnash teeth and throw feces at anyone who makes challenges to the contrary.)

But this little thing changed my mind a bit. The world needs a few more girls who challenge traditional roles. So I’m cool with having one or two. And maybe a boy to offset the ones acting like they haven’t an ounce of sense about them.

[Jam of the Day]: The Radio Department, I Don’t Like It Like This

3 responses to “Imagine That

  1. wonderful stuff…

  2. It’s interesting that you felt you didn’t want any girl children. For me, I only want girls, partly due to the fact that, if I had a boy, he might turn out like me πŸ™‚

    I feel that if the world were run by females alone, we’d have a much kinder planet. No more war, enough food, medicine and clean water to go around… just imagine.

  3. I’m with you, Kevin. Jeez…you must be a real hit with the ladies. πŸ™‚

    Really refreshing to see.

Leave a Reply

