Compression

Sometimes one wrong move seems like it will disrupt the order of one’s entire universe. So it’s with extreme trepidation that I offer a signature, walk down the street, open my mouth, look someone in the eye.

I don’t have a problem committing to something as long as it feels right. I’m about to go downstairs and sign, what feels like, my life away. I had this same feeling right before my ex and I were supposed to move into our new place last year. I bailed, you see, and it was one of the best decisions I ever made.

It’s not permanent, I tell myself. You can get out of it. Because really, everything comes with a price tag. Everything’s for sale.

And there she goes again. Old waterworks just can’t seem to turn off the faucet this week.

[Jam of the Day]: Andrew Bird, MX Missiles

Leave a Reply

