Copyright v. Copywriting

What I do for a living often confuses people. Copywriting, copyright–one must have something to do with the other, right?

No.

Let us consider these fine snipets from Wikipedia:

Copyright is a set of exclusive rights regulating the use of a particular expression of an idea or information. At its most general, it is literally “the right to copy” an original creation. In most cases, these rights are of limited duration. The symbol for copyright is ©, and in some jurisdictions may alternatively be written as either (c) or (C).

Copywriting is the process of writing the words that promote a person, business, opinion, or idea. It may be used as plain text, as a radio or television advertisement, or in a variety of other media. The main purpose of writing this marketing copy, or promotional text, is to persuade the listener or reader to act – to buy a product or subscribe to a certain viewpoint, for instance. […]

Copywriters can work for themselves as independent contractors…They may also work as employees within larger organizations, including advertising agencies, public relations firms, advertising departments within larger companies, TV or radio stations, newspapers and magazines.

Ah, yes:

Because the words sound alike, copywriters are sometimes confused with people who work in copyright law. The careers are unrelated.

That’ll be all. 🙂

3 responses to “Copyright v. Copywriting

  1. I know it’s not a copyright, but I recently was looking to get a trademark and can personally say that my copywriting skills came in no handy trying to unravel what actually had to be done.

    Just thought you might like to know.

  2. You’re the one who titled your blog Think.Write.Now which is, of course, a delicious pun invloving right/write.

    You’ve brought this on yourself.

  3. Good and interesting points, fellas.

    I don’t really have a problem inside my niche of the blogosphere (where other creatives and marketing folks lurk), but I can’t tell you how many parties and family events I go to during which I end up having to explain the difference between what I actually do for a living and what people think I do.

    I think I’ll just start saying I work in Marketing. Clear and simple.

Leave a Reply

