A "Scoatch" of Camera Obscura, Meese, etc.

Hi!

As you may have noticed, the digs are a bit different here @ Expo86. I’ve changed the look of this blog three times in three years and each time it’s been radically different. I suppose the content’s changed a fair bit as well, but this time around you can expect the same random bullshit commentary as you’re probably used to. I may still tweak a thing or two, but boy, I feel pretty with my new makeover. 🙂

Anyway, I took in a couple shows this week that I think are worth talking about. And I’ve had a couple glasses of wine so bare with me.

Camera Obscura: February 8th @ The Bluebird Theatre

I shouldn’t even taint the memory with a pathetic and inaccurate description of how great this show was. But will anyway.

I was twiddling my thumbs for over a month waiting for February 8th to roll around, and come hell or high water I wasn’t going to miss this show.

Now, I realize I’m a tad biased in this review as Camera Obscura is one of my favorite bands of all time. Combined with the fact that they don’t come stateside all that often, I was pleased as punch to be standing in front of them. Thankfully (and, in retrospect, surprisingly), my ridiculously high expectations were more than met. Which, I think, attests to the awesomeness of this six-piece band.

Not only did the music exceed all expectations, but the band members themselves were entertaining. Notably, Tracyanne is cute as a button, and I had no idea that Nigel (horn player, percussionist and sometimes guitar player) had the musical dexterity and physical fortitude to run about the stage and hit the instruments as well as he hit them for so long. That’s because François has been filling in for the U.S. leg of the tour. I haven’t been able to learn why, but he was more than a suitable substitute.

(Let it be known that I love François, despite, as Mark so aptly put, that his pants were just a “scoatch” short. He’s Euro. It can be overlooked.)

I was that girl singing and bouncing to every song…but I restrained myself from writing down the setlist in this instance. I must not have wanted to make a bad impression on the new people I was hanging out with. Jesus. Anyway, I can tell you that they played all but two songs (False Contender and I Need All The Friends I Can Get) from the new album (“Let’s Get Out Of This Country”), along with a with a smashing rendition of Eighties Fan (from “Biggest Bluest Hi-Fi”), Keep It Clean (my favorite!) and Suspended From Class (from “Underachievers Please Try Harder”), as well as a B-side (I think) that I didn’t recognize.

So, that was too much information. I did manage to snap a couple of good photos, which are located in the Camera Obscura set on Flickr.

Meese, Nathan & Stephan […] February 9th @ The Gothic Theatre

Meese, a band native to Denver, opened up for three other local bands, Nathan & Stephan, (Think The Mighty Mighty Bosstones, but a “scoatch” cooler), Photo Atlas and Born In The Flood last night.

Meese has done quite well as of late, having opened up for The Fray (also native to Colorado) at a couple of their home shows. Last night’s show was particularly exciting for a number of us as our good friend and co-worker Peter D. was filling in for the bassist. They played a great set, but, biased as I am, it was pretty awesome to see Peter (statistician by day) killing more than Excel queries.

You can check out a some various Meese and Nathan & Stephan photos via my Flickr Musica set as well. I didn’t snap any of Photo Atlas or Born In The Flood, because…well, I don’t like them. (But Photo Atlas has one hell of a drummer.)

Hmm. Well, I’m exhausted. I’m sure I’ll be back with more musings at a not-so-later date.

[Jams of the Day]:
Camera Obscura, Eighties Fan
Nathan and Stephan, Happier

3 responses to “A "Scoatch" of Camera Obscura, Meese, etc.

  1. dig the new layout…kudos!

  2. Thanks! I like the new look.

  3. Thanks, y’all. I like it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

