Reason for the Season

I’m mostly indifferent to Valentine’s Day. Today a girl I work with got a giant mylar balloon that sang, incessantly, “You’re The One That I Want.” The balloon was accompanied by chocolate, a dozen red roses and the biggest greeting card I’ve ever seen. It said something ridiculous on the front like, “Valentine’s Day Contract.”

Her husband brought all the items to the office and, upon dropping them off, was so embarrassed he didn’t even say hello to her.

D, in one giant travel cluster between the UK and crappy weather in northeast, apologized for not giving me a better Valentine’s Day. What he said after that was so simple and true that my eyes went damp. That feeling, friends, is the reason for the season. Not the ridiculous-sized balloons, the overpriced flowers and the heart-shaped chocolates. And I don’t think there’s anything wrong with erring on the side of quiet about it. Which is why I didn’t tell you what D said to make me go weepy. 🙂

But hey, what do I know. Maybe giant greeting cards is where it’s at.

[Jam of the Day]: Outkast, Happy Valentine’s Day

Leave a Reply

