ShePrez

I haven’t yet made my choice about who’s going to get my vote in 2008, but something is sort of annoying me–not about Hilary Rodham Clinton, but about some of her supporters. And that thing is that they can’t stop fixating on the fact that she’s a woman.

I don’t know why this bothers me. It will be a great historical and sociological benchmark when a woman becomes president. But some of her supporters seem on par to the whole BlogHer movement, which I find to be sort of silly (as previously noted here). She’s a politician who happens to be a woman. Which is cool. But does everyone have to harp on it?

Or maybe it’s me that has the issue, me that can’t reconcile the disconnect there seems to be between wanting (and achieving) equality and retaining one’s womanhood.

2 responses to “ShePrez

  1. I agree with you on this one, Megan. By focusing on her being a woman, it implies that it’s a bit of a surprise she’s in contention. That’s not cool.

    Also, sadly, more people will vote against her simple because she’s a woman than those who will vote her her simply because (although both are silly).

    Anywho, it’s all speculation until the parties nominate their candidates.

  2. Good points, Peter.

    Personally (and somewhat surprisingly), I’ve found myself not even thinking of Hillary as a woman until someone brings it up. Which makes me happy. I feel like I’m seeing her for the sum of her parts, rather than just a few pieces of it.

    We’ll see what happens…

Leave a Reply

