I haven’t slept for two days.

Well. I sorta slept last night. But not as well as I should have in a ridiculously posh bed at a Vail resort.

The previously mentioned speaking event went well. I ended up hitting it off fairly well with a few people at the presenters’ reception last night; which probably had something to do with the fact that one of my first conversations went like this:

Fellow presenter [to me]: You look really familiar…but I can’t quite place where.
Me: Oh, well you’ve probably seen me on the internet. I’ve been in quite a few videos.

Of course, I was talking about work-related videos, but that didn’t exactly translate. As for the actual presentation, I spoke too fast (knew it, and didn’t care), forgot to advance one of my slides (boo) and forgot a small section of my presentation. But it all turned out to be for the best, because we ended up going over our 90 minutes anyway.

My good friend and co-presenter James was great—and rather unwaveringly dealt with lots of spontaneous comments from the conference drunkard. It was my goal to win the conference and I think we will at least earn a second place showing. We definitely had the most rockin’ visuals and lots of eager questions afterwards.

My only complaint lies in the ineptitude of our company, which very well may undo the good graces under which I’ve fallen over the past 24 hours.

But I suspect I’ll have plenty of time to melt that stress away. When I got home tonight, there sitting in my inbox was a gift from D: A full 2 hours in the “Recovery Room” at one of Denver’s top spas, in congratulation for a job well done.

Tonight, I feel just like I thought I would: accomplished, happy, and excited to resume normal life. ‘Cause, you know, I’ve got a lot to look forward to. 😉

[Jam of the Day]: Interpol, Rest My Chemistry

3 responses to “I haven’t slept for two days.

  1. Congrats on a job well done. I knew you and James would tear it up.

  2. awww, that D is the bestest!

  3. Peter,

    Thanks a million. I think we’re both more than glad to be done.

    Boogie,

    D is hands down, no demanding a recount, the best. Est. 🙂

Leave a Reply

