NMT: Aaron Lee Martin

If you’re into folk music, I’ve got something special for you this week.

A few weeks ago, my good friend Peter D. offered up Aaron Lee Martin’s album, To Those Who Have Ears, Listen and I’ve fallen, steadfastly, in love with it.

But as I started looking for more information about Martin, I discovered relatively nothing on the intarwebs. No web site (save for a Myspace page). No album info. Not on Amazon. Not on Pitchfork (Ha! Schmendricks. Who’s ahead of the curve now?). Not on CDBaby.

So I hit up the aforementioned Myspace page and sent Martin a message. Afterall, I needed to find out where to direct friends who were interested in picking up the album.

From: Megan
Date: Aug 21, 2007 4:13 PM

Hey Aaron,

A friend of mine recently introduced me to your album and I love it. I have a measly little blog (https://expo86.wordpress.com), and every Tuesday I try to do a “New Music Tuesday” post, in which I recommend to readers (mostly my friends and whomever they’ve passed the URL along to) my new music picks.

The dilemma is that I would feel like a jerk for recommending great music that no one could get their hands on. I’ve done some web searches, both under your name, the album name…all of which have yet to turn up anything.

Could you tell me how I can purchase some copies? I’m hoping to get enough response from the blog post to send readers in your direction.

Keep up the great work. I’d love to hear you in Colorado one day.

Best,
Megan

And whatdya know, a short time later, he wrote me back:

From: Aaron Lee Martin
Date: Aug 22, 2007 1:05 PM

hey megan,

thank you so much for the interest and for spreading the love, it truly does mean so much to me.

you’ve inspired me to post a blog on how to aquire a cd (which i probably should have posted a while back…oops!)

well, i did post it in a blog once, but the chances of people reading that first blog are slim.
but anyhow, i still work on snail mail, so to purchase a cd, you just send $8 to:

Aaron Lee Martin
PO Box 2098
Wichita, KS 67201

and as soon as i get your envelope, i’ll send a cd to the return address. i’m starting to realize that starting up a paypal or even using the snocap option would benefit me greatly. i guess i’m still just a little old fashioned in ways.

but again, thank you so much, and i definitely hope to come out to denver again soon. take care megan and i hope to talk to you soon.

peace,
aaron

Sigh. I like him, don’t you? But honestly, I wouldn’t urge you to send $8 to an artist who: (a) wasn’t worth listening to, or (b) I thought might take the money and run.

Don’t miss this one. Check him out and let me know what you think!

[Jam of the Day]: Aaron Lee Martin, Bluebird

UPDATE: Just found this ROCKIN’ live performance of Martin’s “Thief Song.” Oooh, boy. The gettin’ is good. 

Leave a Reply

