Breaking Bread

Apologies can be a dime a dozen. Rarely do I experience one that strikes me square in the gut.

When they do occur, there’s a decided lack of “Oh, I won this argument” feeling about it. It’s more about calling a truce, about agreeing to create new beginnings. Even if you yourself haven’t issued the apology, you can’t help but feel you’ve learned something from receiving one, from watching another person’s brave admission. Yes, these apologies seem to be two-fold.

Maybe this makes no sense. But I’m pretty sure I had the most adult moment of my adult life this afternoon. Feels good in an array of ways I probably can’t articulate. But “Go Team!” seems an appropriate sentiment.

[Jam of the Day]: The National, Green Gloves

Leave a Reply

