No Angels Came

I’ve been trying to string words together in order to explain how amazing my time in Juarez was, but, as it turns out, I can’t.

I’m not sure there’s any way to describe the extreme poverty and living conditions in which these people exist, nor the lack of police and government protection as more than 400 women have been brutalized and murdered since 1993. [Video from Amnesty International]

It’s hard to describe the feeling of gifting a family with something as simple, yet huge as a home, as well as the unexpected camaraderie and friendship built along side a three-room structure. Best time ever, I’m telling you.

And it’s damn near impossible to describe the grotesque feeling that creeps into your stomach as you cross the border into the U.S. and realize that a third-world country is 12 hours away from your home.

I can’t pinpoint exactly how this experience will affect how I live the rest of my life, only that it already has.

I guess what I’d ask of anyone reading this is to pay attention and help however much you can, in whatever way you can. You might not be able to change a country on your own, but helping to change someone’s life is indeed as great a gift received as it is given.

And now for a few photos from my Juarez Flickr set (and apologies for the odd spacing that won’t fix itself)!

What we started with the-start.jpg

Rosana, Brian & Lovine
brl.jpg

A personal favorite
anotherfav.jpg

The kids’ play area, filled with garbagegarbage-slide.jpg

Me coming out of the outhouse. Eek!
outhouse.jpg

The sun sets on day onesunset.jpg

Scared chicken. Hilarious.
scared-chicken.jpg

Part of Team Uncomfortable: Making people feel awkward one at a time.teamu.jpg

Lots of photos on Flickr. It’s Friday—browse away!

[Jam of the Day]: Tori Amos, Juarez

2 responses to “No Angels Came

  1. We live very close to the border as well and it does keep things in perspecitve. I want to do more than sometimes I really can. I just pray and do what I am able. I think one thing that helps is to remember just how blessed we are in this country and with that comes responsiblity.
    Debbie aka The Real World Martha

  2. Thanks for your comment, RWM. I think you hit it on the head with your mention of responsibility. Part of that for me will be to hang on to this perspective for as long as I can.

    Bah. Breaks my heart.

Leave a Reply

