Enough!

Well, here I am. Sitting at home on a day when I should be driving back to Colorado. I can say with venom that I’m tired of wintry weather…but, I suppose one day of down time won’t kill me (driving in a blizzard, on the other hand, just might), and it gives me some time to project a bunch of inconsequential drivel onto a few Expo86 readers.

So what the heck have I been doing in cold, snowy Iowa for a week? Well, I got to spend lots of quality time with D and our families. His hometown arrival was much more dramatic than mine—his connecting flight from Minneapolis was canceled and all the rental cars were already rented, so D’s dad drove up in the middle of the night to get him. (Yes, yes, I got a demerit for not driving up myself.)

With D finally home, we saw those of our friends who, by the grace of co-occurring weather and airport variables, were able to make it back.

We also accompanied D’s parents to famous artist and illustrator Gary Kelley’s annual Christmas party, which far surpassed my expectations. (You’ve seen Gary Kelley’s work and not even known it—just go to your local Barnes and Noble to see what I’m talking about. D and I also spotted his work on a restaurant menu in Colorado.)

We all overindulged that night; when D and I weren’t standing around laughing at each other, he was taking tequila shots with his dad, and his mom and I were talking a bit about this. D also got one of my favorite prints for Christmas, “Latino Jazz.”

latinojazz.jpg

Our parents got together once again, this time for a pre-Christmas dinner at our favorite Italian restaurant, where they sat us by two tables of drunken friends and relatives, one of which insisted upon doing some unfortunate rendition of a rap video dance to her husband’s ringtone.

And, speaking of Yuletide, I was completely spoiled this Christmas. My grandmother finally got out of the hospital on Christmas Eve, so we pre-made Christmas dinner at our house that night and then drove the two hours to my grandparent’s house to spend Christmas with them. Grandma’s a little weak, but happy to be home. It was great to be in their house again.

Of course, in the literal sense of Christmas pressies, I was spoiled there, too. My parents managed to find almost everything on my Christmas list (which can be tough in Iowa, y’all), including a very hard-to-find vintage henley which made my day. D’s mom also surprised me in every sense of the word with a trip to New York City! This February, she’ll take me, D’s sister and grandmother to see Jersey Boys on Broadway. Needless to say, that’s a trip I’m very much looking forward to.

D, as usual, went above and beyond the call of duty. His perfect gift-giving ten included lots of tech & music goodies, rounded out by a most perfect silk frock that I can’t wait to wear!

As for my gifts to D, the main one turned out to be something he already had—a set of new Bose in-ear headphones. I quickly found out when I saw his iPod on his parent’s kitchen table, sporting the exact pair of headphones I’d just bought him. Sigh. So it’s back to square one with D’s Christmas pressie. 🙂

Things wrapped up quickly from there. Yesterday I took D to the airport and indulged my mother in a tearjerker movie.

Today, I’m just hanging out with the house to myself and playing with Ella. She’ll be staying here with my parents while I’m in between apartments for the next month. Something tells me that leaving her behind will be more sniffle-inducing than any sappy movie.

About the only thing I didn’t do this week is take pictures. I know, right? But sometimes it isn’t worth interrupting the moment for a photograph. Luckily, there were a lot of those moments this week.

So. What have you been doing this week?

2 responses to “Enough!

  1. As a Barnes and Noble pseudo employee it warms my heart to know that that artist is from Iowa. Lucky you. It sounded like you had a great time! Awww Christmas in Iowa with fam.

    1) I will be dying to know how Jersey Boys is (I heart the Four Seasons) 2) How was Ps, I love you? I secretly want to see it 🙂 and 3) I about died when I saw the Princess Bride clip…mawwage…hahaha…

    As for my Christmas, here it is in a nutshell: Games, Parents, Siblings, Food, & Movies…in no particular order, just considerable amounts of each! 🙂

  2. For sure—Kelley’s done some great stuff. Fun to randomly come across it.

    1) I’m super excited and will not skimp on details. D’s mom said the seats were so good we could “probably see the spit fly out of their mouths.”

    2) PS I Love You was…eh. Only one big I-need-a-tissue moment for me (which was fine), but all in all, I’d give it a C. Maybe a C-. Hillary Swank was just a weird choice for that role. I’m curious though…think the book is better?

    Sounds like a great holiday! Hard to believe it’s over already. Have a safe trip to Cali. 🙂

Leave a Reply

