Top 25 Albums of 2007 | Expo86-Style

I know, I know. I said these would be up on December 28. But between the bad weather that delayed my return to Colorado and New Year’s, we’re just getting around to sharing them.

So without further fuss, here are my top 25 faves of 2007:

25. Interpol | Our Love to Admire

24. Tori Amos | American Doll Posse

23. Bird and the Bee | Self-titled

22. Blonde Redhead | 23

21. St. Vincent | Marry Me

20. Le Loup | The Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nations’ Millennium General Assembly

19. Kanye West | Graduation

18. Metric | Grow Up and Blow Away

17. Neko Case | Live from ACL

16. Kate Nash | Made of Bricks

15. Of Montreal | Hissing Fauna, Are You The Destroyer?

14. Great Northern | Trading Twilight for Daylight

13. Twilight Sad | Fourteen Autumns and Fifteen Winters

12. Stars | In Our Bedroom After The War

11. Air | Pocket Symphony

10. Spoon | Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga

9. Feist | The Reminder

8. Andrew Bird | Armchair Apocrypha

7. Arcade Fire | Neon Bible

6. Peter Bjorn and John | Writer’s Block

5. The Shins | Wincing The Night Away

4. Rogue Wave | Asleep at Heaven’s Gate

3. LCD Soundsystem | Sound of Silver

2. Jens Lekman | Night Falls Over Kortedala

1. The National | Boxer

Honorable mention: Menomena | Friend and Foe

And, actually…in looking at this list, I realize that I inadvertently bumped Radiohead’s In Rainbows off the damn thing. It had a top five slot on my written list. Wonder how I messed that up? ANYWAY, this (plus In Rainbows) is my list for the year. Feel free to share your favorites via comments!

7 responses to “Top 25 Albums of 2007 | Expo86-Style

  1. You’ve influenced my listening habits. I always knew that, but I see it more clearly now that your top 25 list has many in common with mine.

    I’m glad to see The Bird and The Bee made it.

  2. Likewise! (As demonstrated with The Bird and The Bee!)

    What were some of your favorites this year?

  3. Didnt Writers Block (great album) come out in 2006. You should check out Sunset Rubdown’s album Random Spirit Lover.

  4. Many you mentioned (mainly Interpol, Bird and the Bee, Metric, Neko Case, Twilight Said, Arcade Fire, Shins, Rogue Wave, Radiohead) but also a few others…

    Heavy stuff:
    The Chariot – The Fiancée
    August Burns Red – Messengers
    Oh, Sleeper – When I am God

    Other stuff:
    Explosions in the Sky – All of a Sudden I Miss Everyone
    Rilo Kiley – Under the Blacklight

    Honorable mention:
    Wilco – Sky Blue Sky
    Silverchair – Young Modern
    Smashing Pumpkins – Zeitgeist

    Best song of 2008 so far: Monologue Replica by Josh Scogin
    www(dot)youtube(dot)com/watch?v=6HifynZkGEE

  5. Todd,

    They may have released a track pre-2007 (Young Folks, maybe?), but the album was released in the U.S. in March. I was sort of hoping you were right so I could bump Radiohead back into my list where appropriate. 🙂 I’ve liked what I’ve heard from Sunset Rubdown, but you’re right—I need to spend some more time with them.

    Peter, good list. I haven’t heard the Silverchair album—I’ll have to check that out. I dig Explosions’ album name.

  6. Pitchfork Media has Writers Block as their 24th best album of 2006. Here is a review of the album on Oct 18, 2006.

    http://www.pitchforkmedia.com/article/record_review/39118-writers-block

    Check out the song The Taming of the Hands that Came Back to Life, off of Random Spirit Lover, easily one of the best songs of the year. Oh yeah, and put In Rainbows back on that list.

  7. Good spot. I’ll have to read the review and check into the date discrepancy, just out of sheer curiosity. In the meantime, consider Writer’s Block off and In Rainbows on!

Leave a Reply

