The Business of Being Born

A new documentary coming to select theaters near you. I’m actually pretty interested in seeing it, possibly because I have this whole awe/fear complex around being pregnant and giving birth. But, like all big life events (weddings, illnesses, deaths, etc.), everyone’s in some kind of business to make a profit on it.

To see how the most miraculous thing a human being can do is monetized—and perhaps to the detriment of our babies (remember, the U.S. has the second highest infant mortality rate in the world), is simultaneously disheartening and eye-opening.

I’m definitely thinking of my good friend Rae, who in a couple short weeks will give birth to her first baby, a girl, via midwife. Go get ’em, girl. 🙂

7 responses to “The Business of Being Born

  1. Thanks for the shout-out Meg! I was a little nervous to watch the trailer not know what to expect, but it just reaffirmed some of my thoughts and goals for labor and delivery. 🙂 I’m going to forward it on to my sister and tell my Midwife about it! Talk to you soon!

  2. We used a physician for Emery’s birth and couldn’t be happier with our decision. We felt very well educated about all of the choices we would face and we weren’t rushed at all.

    “the U.S. has the second highest infant mortality rate in the world”

    You’ve awoken a sleeping statistician.

    The U.S. has the 180th “highest” infant mortality rate in the world (of 221 listed [ source – https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2091rank.html ]), and even then, the countries don’t all agree on what constitutes a live birth. Many countries will disqualify a child that doesn’t weight enough, isn’t tall enough, or hasn’t spent enough time in the womb whereas the U.S. counts every child showing ANY sign of independant life whatsoever.

    For example, Austria and Germany disqualify any child weighing under 500 grams from consideration in their report. In Switzerland, the child must be at least 30 centimeters long. Belgium and France require at least 26 weeks of pregnancy. The US places none of these restrictions on its statistics, and that contributes to a seemingly higher infant mortality rate. [source - http://health.usnews.com/usnews/health/articles/060924/2healy.htm ]

    When Kelsey got pregnant, we did a lot of research into midwives and physicians and hosptials. We found that there are a lot of biased and slanted reports out there, but the few straightforward things we found helped us make the best decision for us. I encourage anyone facing a pregnancy to do the same.

  3. Rachel, you will rock the house. I’m excited for you.

    Peter, I couldn’t agree more about the research thing—gotta do what feels right for you. Rachel, for example, is delivering via midwife in a hospital (unless she’s changed her mind unbeknownst to me!). Options are good. And thank you kindly for the stats. I’ll be bugging you for some more of those today at work. 🙂

  4. I had the T-man via midwife in a hosptial and she was GREAT. Due to my circumstances, a midwife was not my first choice but she was really amazing. During the course of the pregnancy I learned that she had gone to high school with my mom so maybe she took extra good care of me. 😉

  5. Sweet! I love it when you bug me for stats.

    Rachel is making a smart move by being in a hospital. There are a handful of complications that hospitals can handle simply and effectively that might otherwise be very dangerous if the birth is happening in a hottub at home.

  6. Personally, I think I’d be more comfortable at a hospital, too. But then, I’m pretty sure they’ll have to open me up, so I won’t have a choice. 🙂

    There are things about hospitals that scare me too, mostly when it comes to administering medications to infants. I’m sure you heard about Dennis Quaid’s twins who were almost killed when the nurse administered too much of a certain medication. But even those instances, while terrifying, are uncommon.

  7. I am 99% sure I am doing a homebirth, thanks for the link!

Leave a Reply

