Bag of Butts: Smart Glass Denver

What would you do if you were a woman in a dark parking garage and saw this stuck to your side mirror?

carnote.jpg

You’d probably get out, walk around and check for damage, and you’d probably have your guard down.

This is pretty much what my friend Kristi did today, before dialing the number and learning that some crackhead at Smart Glass Denver was merely trying to get her business. Not only is it intrusive, uncool marketing—it’s straight up unsafe, too. So Kristi and her fiancé James (alias Marketing Punk) have set out to destroy them via the intarwebs:

If you have a blog, and you would be so kind, please make a post (it can be super short) that talks about what Smart Glass did to Kristi and use the words Smart Glass Denver in the post title. Then, put a link to this blog post from your blog using the linking text “Smart Glass Denver”. Hopefully in a couple of weeks anyone who types Smart Auto into a search engine will see all of our posts on the first page.

If you’d like to voice your dissatisfaction directly, you can reach Smart Glass by calling 303-296-0809.

So far so good. Just type in ‘Smart Glass Denver’ into Google and see what comes up first.

[UPDATE]: Looks like the Consumerist has taken aim at Smart Glass Denver. Go get ’em!

9 responses to “Bag of Butts: Smart Glass Denver

  1. I had this post it note on my car a few weeks ago, and I thought it may have been left by a certain coworker, as the initials on the post-it resemble the initials of the coworker…

    I thought maybe he/she’d bumped my car on their way out and wanted to make things right.

    I gave them an earful when I called and heard a loser sales pitch.

  2. Ugh. Not cool. Not cool at all. I guess Eric had the same note on his car awhile back. Frickin’ stupid.

  3. Wow – well at least I know I am not be irrational by being pissed. Thanks for all the blog support 🙂

  4. Kristi~
    I think that you have taken this whole thing way too far. You must really have NO LIFE! I was reading what you wrote, and I do agree with some of the things you said…..but really come on. Do you really have nothing better to do with your time? It sounds like Smart Glass was just trying to help you out. GROW UP KRISTI!

  5. Well Sarah, I can’t say that I agree with you. I think it’s clear by Smart Glass’ pattern of ghetto marketing that their aim isn’t to catch women off guard in dimly lit parking garages.

    What it does point to however, is that they don’t care about the negative effects of this kind of marketing.

    And really—you think Kristi has no life? That’s kind of the pot calling the kettle black.

  6. Well Sarah, I can’t say that I agree with you. I think it’s clear by Smart Glass’ pattern of ghetto marketing that their aim isn’t to catch women off guard in dimly lit parking garages.

    What it does point to however, is that they don’t care about (or, haven’t even thought of) the negative effects of such tactics.

    And really—you think Kristi has no life? That’s kind of the pot calling the kettle black.

  7. Pingback: [UPDATE] Bag of Butts: Smart Glass Denver « Expo86: Think.Write.Now

  8. If I was a scared female in that situation I would NOT take out my camera, turn it on, put my target in the viewfinder, focus, and take a picture of the post-it note.

    Girls (and guys) be safe and careful out there. If you ever find yourself in an uncomfortable situation, get in your car and lock the doors immediately. Don’t bother taking pictures.

    The pitchfork and torch vigilantism of this whole thing seems kind of weird.

    That said, i’m no fan of smart glass, or their marketing tactics.

  9. They're still at it

    Got a lovely little sticky today. Same handwriting as the picture.

Leave a Reply

