Life and Times

Eesh. I’ve neglected this thing for nearly a week. Without getting into much detail, here’s a recap of the last six days:

My company sold to a bigger public company. Much to the good fortune of its shareholders, which all of us are.

I resigned my position as lead copywriter.

My last day of work is February 29. (We will have a happy hour. If you are Rocky Mountain High and read this blog regularly, your patronage will be appreciated.)

I’m leaving Colorado circa March 3, 4 or 5 (depending on weather and packing).

I’m hanging out in Iowa for about a week, to see friends and family.

I’m scooping up Ella (yay!) and continuing the drive east to the District.

I’m moving into my new apartment on March 15.

Beyond that, I couldn’t really tell you, except that I plan to be blissfully happy with the love of my life. And that I’m sort of expecting the job thing to just work itself out in due time.

On a smaller scale, I’ve been breaking an inordinate amount of shit. Such as the electricity for my entire bedroom.

After things wrapped up with work last week, I felt quite literally bowled over with relief, and the instant release of stress gave me a deluge of headaches, followed by a cold sore this week, which I’ve named Clyde.

But seriously, who can complain? I feel like I’m comfortably swaddled in the ebb and flow of life. I’m sure it will get a little terse as I make the transition and deal with leaving my friends behind. But even the strain seems part and parcel.

For now I’m off to bed, using my cellphone as a lone source of light.

[Jam of the Day]: Vampire Weekend, M79

6 responses to “Life and Times

  1. cheers…good luck to you 🙂

  2. YAY! So exciting… I think I might need to come down for the final happy hour – can’t believe it’s all happening so fast!

  3. It’s very exciting. I’m looking forward to having a little time off. (Famous last words of a soon-to-be unemployed busy body.)

    We’ll have to figure out a location—maybe we could Snug it up?

  4. OOOO That would be fun! I’m always up for nights at the Snug. I’m already dreaming of the waffle fries.

    And, time off… highly jealous… soak it up! I am sure you will be really busy getting your life organized, which will hopefully fill the unemployed void.

  5. Yeah, you’re right. I’m sure I’ll have plenty to do. And as Dan so pointedly remarked: “You could like, I don’t know, WRITE or something.”

    Sigh. I hate it when he’s right. 🙂

  6. Hah! I know – but it’s somehow not as annoying as when your mom is right! 🙂 Happy V-day!

Leave a Reply

