It’s Like Primus Meets Goo Goo Dolls

A certain wistfulness has been creeping into my chest this week, and it’s brought with it a nagging, ever-present awareness that in a few fast-approaching days, I’ll be steering my car far, far away from here.

That was last week. This week I feel good. I’ve packed up and mailed a handful more boxes, lined up some freelance work starting next month, and I have a great week in front of me. (And, bonus, work is driving me insane!)

A handful of activities include(d):

» Enjoying Denver Restaurant Week with my roommates. Tonight: Panzano (Best eggplant of my life; don’t miss it!)

» A farewell lunch with some of my favorite teammates and friends

» My exit interview (during which I’ll air very few grievances)

» A farewell happy hour (goodbyes + beer = possible public display of emotion…watch out!)

» Birthday celebration for Cassie at Osteria Marco

» Planning a July fourth trip back to Colorado with D

» Planning a girl’s weekend in Chicago for late-March

» Planning my trip route. Which is going to look something like this. Yikes. 2,000 miles.

My plan is to keep so busy that I don’t have time to be emotional about the leaving part of things. So far so good.

Awhile ago I also decided to chronicle my long road trip via video. Something bizarre usually happens to me when I travel long distances, whether I accidentally douse myself in gasoline, or Ella throws up on the center console. Anyway, putting it together will be a fun project during my downtime and a nice way to document the closing of the transcontinental gap that’s been between D and I for the last 18 months.

‘Tis all for now. Time to mail [even more] boxes.

[Jam of the Day]: Thunder Ant, The Perfect Song

4 responses to “It’s Like Primus Meets Goo Goo Dolls

  1. Aaah. Can’t believe it’s here already! J and I should be back in Denver on Sat. night around 10:30/11… hopefully we can catch up with you guys!

  2. Every morning this week I wake up and am like, “Holy crap, it’s really going down.” Crazy. I hope we can get together, too! I have a feeling we may be Snuggin’ it up or something of that ilk. 🙂

  3. I bet – but you seem to be holding up well :). Snug – that would be awesome! Keep us posted for sure, and have fun tomorrow night!!

  4. Yes, yes. Famous last words. Cried the whole way home. Oh, me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

