The Test is Over

The sound of Ella drinking water out of her dish creates one of those soothing, water trickling sounds. It makes me sleepy.

Sadly, I’ve slept like crap all weekend. I think it’s equal parts hard mattress and being consumed by an overactive mind.

I don’t like feeling inadequate about what I do for a living. I don’t even know what else to say about that, but I feel as if it contributes to the abovementioned statement.

I was in a wine bar tonight and as I stood outside the restroom waiting for it to open up, the Flaming Lips’ Do You Realize came on over the loudspeaker and shot me straight back to my senior year of college. Which reminded me that Yoshimi Battles the Pink Robots is in my top five favorite albums of all time. (Due in part to the track Fight Test.)

I walked home this blustery mid-March night full of nostalgia, too much pride and acutely aware that stubbornness was setting in.

I don’t know what to do about that last one. Maybe I’ll crappily sleep on it and get over it in the morning.

[Jam of the Day]: Flaming Lips, Fight Test

Leave a Reply

