Not Your Average Wednesday

I came home this morning to find a dead woman in the driveway.

I saw the yellow tape and myriad police from a block away and thought, Well, I’m going to grab Ella and maybe not come back. I walked up from the back and saw the head of maintenance, a young, kind guy named Tony, standing next to an officer.

“What’s all this?” I asked.
“Drama,” he said. “Drama.”
“Um…well what happened?”
“They think you didn’t pay your rent,” he joked.

Inside, more police and residents hung in the lobby. I walked up to a friend of my landlady, who works at the front desk.

“What happened?”
“Somebody fell…or was pushed. From the tenth floor balcony. That’s about all I can say.”

Another crack was made about me not paying my rent and I figured whatever situation had gone down had been resolved. The injured person had been taken to the hospital. If there were any suspects, they had been arrested. I could remove myself from the situation and start my day.

“God, that’s awful,” I said. “I think I need some coffee.”

I walked back outside and started across the street to the 7-11 (I can’t find my coffee pot; instead of always walking and buying expensive coffee, I go to the 7-11 across the street, buy a large coffee for $1.53 and come home and add my own milk).

“Megan! You got to go out the back!” Wow. Was Nice Tony yelling at me?
“Shit, OK. Slow your roll, I’m going.”

As I walked to 7-11, I saw news crews arriving.

A short time later I walked out of 7-11, crossed the short street to my apartment and headed for the sidewalk. And there. There was the blood. The sheet. The painted toes sticking out from under it.

“Baby, go around back,” a female cop said softly.

I walked back inside my building to a crowd of people. I stood at the elevator with my $1.53’s worth of coffee.

“You might need something stronger than that today, baby,” I heard someone say. I didn’t look up. As I walked into the elevator I heard the same person say, “Uh oh. White girl’s gonna have a time.”

You know, you watch CSI and Law and Order and all that shit on TV, and you think you’re probably good and desensitized to these types of things. I guess I’m not. When I got in to my apartment I heaved the contents of my empty stomach into the sink.

Now I just feel jumpy. Like I want to go run errands and resume normalcy. Once I get the all clear that this poor woman has been taken out of the street for all to see, then maybe.

10 responses to “Not Your Average Wednesday

  1. Also, like…why did no one add, “…Baby, they died and the body is still there.” Why make a person discover that on their own? I’m just saying.

  2. Geeze. Hope you’re doing alright.

    My sister went through something similar when she moved to L.A. – saw a guy get shot and killed while crossing the street right in front of her car.

    All a part of living in the big city I guess.

  3. Wow, Megan. I’m sorry such a sordid situation hit so close to home. That’s a disturbing thing.

    At least it’s now very likely that the worst part of your day is over. (I’m really reaching for a silver lining here. Maybe there is none.)

    Anyhow, I don’t ahve any pat answers or surefire pick-me-ups for you. Just the sympathy of a friend.

  4. Hey friends,

    Thanks for the kind words. You’re right; probably no silver lining aside from a heightened sense of compassion for others (and your own mortality).

    I have mixed feelings on the big city correlation. I’m sure, statistically speaking, that big cities like DC are more prone to this kind of thing than their smaller counterparts. But then I also think that bad stuff happens everywhere. And regardless of geography, I think we all go about our day to day assuming we won’t bear witness to a shooting or see someone fall to their death. What a shock to the system when we assume wrong.

    That being said, I’m surprised something crazy happened so soon after moving here, and in this neighborhood, no less. Sigh.

  5. Shit man, sorry you had to see that – definitely not your typical Wednesday, or any day really… Hopefully you’ve seen the worst – It can only get better from here 🙂

  6. Amen, sister. I’m going to the new, sunny Target for some good ol’ retail therapy. I figure I can’t get in as much trouble there, as say, Georgetown.

  7. Wow.

    Like Peter, I can only offer my sympathy and support.

    Hope you’re doing OK.

  8. Bah. I sort of can’t stop thinking about it. Even when I’m not thinking about it, I’m thinking about it. I can only tell because of the hollow feeling in my chest. And I don’t mean to be an eight-year-old about it, but I’m just creeped out whenever I walk up the front walk.

    Part of the problem is that I can’t logically work it out, and then there’s the troubling thought that whether she threw herself off the balcony or had help, this kind of behavior was probably customary in her life. (The other half of the problem is that I think way. Too. Much.)

    On another note, hi Jeb. And thanks for the kind words.

    Enough deep thoughts for tonight. Tomorrow is going to be a good day.

  9. Love!!! I am so sorry!!! That is awful and a shock to the system regardless. If I were there, I would make sure we had enough Felicity to watch for the entire day!!!!!
    I am thinking about you and missing you for sure!!!

  10. Pingback: Le Grand Update « Expo86: Think.Write.Now

Leave a Reply

