A Question of Geography

There are a lot of questions people throw at D and me (and that we throw each other), but tanatamount to none remains this:

Do you guys think you’ll move back to Iowa?

I always let D answer, who starts with this:

I think I’m more interested in moving back than Megan is.

You guys know I love Iowa. And most days, the challenge of moving back and having to either break new ground with my career—or discover something completely different—really appeals to me. (As does being closer to family and friends.) But some things don’t. One of those things: weather. Cold, snowy, overcast weather is difficult to wrap my sun-spoiled head around.

And judging by the farmer’s almanac, the coming Midwest winter is going to be a doozy. As if last year wasn’t bad enough.

But if I’ve learned anything, it’s that I can never say never, which means Iowa will always be a possibility. And let’s be honest—I’ve followed D this far; I’d happily go anywhere so long as he came along, Iowa included.

[Jam of the Day]: Islands, Don’t Call Me Whitney, Bobby

4 responses to “A Question of Geography

  1. Iowa winters are tougher than Colorado winters, except when you factor in the competency with which the local and state goverments handle the season.

    Being a Minnesota native, I can tell you it’s unquestionably easier to drive around in Minny the day after a 12 inch snowfall than it is in Denver after a 4 inch snowfall. Unacceptable.

  2. Oh, I agree. And while the snow removal is a huge plus, it’s the long string of grey, frigid days that depress me. But I’ve really been wracking my brain as far as ideal places to live (four seasons, low catastrophic risk, rich culture, good schools, reasonably close to family, etc.) and apparently Utopia doesn’t exist.

    OR DOES IT?!


  3. Let me paint you a little picture. I’m sitting in an empty office, where the sun is just coming up over the horizon and thought I would check out Megan’s blog. Lo and behold it’s a question of whether or not you are going to end up in Iowa, which is a question I have seriously asked myself many a time. I decide to check out the comments and see Peter’s great remarks and than your reply. I click on the link and for some crazy unknown reason I just bust out, in hysterics, for the clip you put up there. Is this Heaven? No, it’s Iowa. Well played M, well played. I can’t stop laughing….hahaha

    On a completely unrelated note, does watching the DNC speeches give you the goosebumps? Or is it just me?

  4. Want to hear something crazy? Last night, I flipped on the TV and Field of Dreams was on Starz. Would you believe that I turned it to FoD at the PRECISE abovementioned clip?!

    FURTHERMORE, I’ve cried twice while watching the DNC speeches. I cried during Michelle Obama’s speech (duh), and really liked what she had to say about coming back and rebuilding the community in which you are raised.

    I don’t know if I believe in signs, but basically after this week, my bags are half packed for Iowa.

Leave a Reply

