Whose House?

A couple of things:

1. Last night was damn incredible.

2. John McCain’s concession speech was fantastic. (And if he had been that candidate throughout the campaign, the election may have turned out differently.)

3. Obama’s acceptance speech was damn incredible.

4. I hope I never see Sarah Palin again.

As you might expect, there was euphoric pandemonium in DC last night.  (Here’s a snapshot; that first video was shot a few blocks away from my apartment.) In fact, we slept in D’s living room to try and shut out some of the noise.

I would still describe the vibe as electrifying and dream-like. As I walked past the rows of newspaper stands this morning I almost felt like I was dreaming, or like I was in some sort of weird Back to the Future scenario, where I had inadvertently done something in the future to cause an unlikely outcome for the present.**

Stupidly, I never really thought about how it would feel to live in DC  during an election year. Some of you have emailed me asking about it, and strangely, D sort of answered that question on our way home from an election party:

“This morning I finally figured out what I would tell people when they ask me what it was like to live in DC. I’ll tell them that it’s sort of like living in the movie Election. Pretty much everyone is like Tracey Flick; a bunch of nerds who desperately wanted to win student council.”

I would post that without comment, except that I watched a person cry every time Barack won a state last night, and I found it funny yet fascinating: I’m just not wired that way.

Nonetheless, I’m probably going to take a personal day on Inauguration Day to watch the parade and a little history in the making.

**This makes no sense to you unless you’re an ardent BtF fan.

6 responses to “Whose House?

  1. Sounds like it must have been pretty coot being in DC for last nights monumental election!!! Love your post, I totally agree that both candidates speeches were great and I hope to never see Sarah Palin again….I bet she’ll disappear back to Alaska.

  2. I just read this Esquire piece on McCain, pretty good read actually.

    Unfortunately, I have a feeling we haven’t seen the last of Palin. I predict she’ll stay on the road to DC…or head to Hollywood. I heard something this morning about a reality show featuring the Palins.

  3. I hate to admit this but I think I would probably watch a reality show about the Palins….I just whouldn’t tell anyone. 🙂

  4. I did enjoy both candidates’ speeches. Would’ve been nice if McCain had been so civil during the campaign.

    I’m sure DC went crazy. In looking at recent elections, the Dem candidate always wins in a landslide. I knew that was true before, but looking at the numbers this week, wow. Blew me away.

    Megan. Question. Do you think people are making too big a deal out of the fact that Obama is black? It seems to me that overemphasizing his race would actually be a bad idea. I mean, wasn’t paying attention to race the problem in the first place? Some of the stuff I’m reading/hearing/seeing almost suggests to me that it was more important to some people to elect ANY black person regardless if he/she was the right person for the job.

    I’d rather see people ignore the race issue. It’s almost as though we’re reeling: “I can’t believe a BLACK guy is going to be president! Wow!” Isn’t that insulting? It’s like “I can’t believe a GIRL beat me at arm wrestling!”

  5. It was unlikely that McCain would ever get my vote, but I’ve never disliked him as a politician, and I didn’t dislike him as a candidate. His speech reminded me why.

    I see what you’re saying on the black issue. I think it’s important to, A) understand that this it’s an important mark in history (i.e. blacks/women earning voting rights, etc.), but B) not to put race before someone’s abilities to govern (or parent, or teach, or whatever).

    It’s obvious that there are still race issues in this country, but, at least the way I live my life (as do you, and most of our comrades), a person’s worth isn’t determined by their skin or gender. From that perspective, it IS kind of embarrassing that people are in awe that we elected a black president.

    So I guess I’m somewhere in the middle of this. I do think it’s historical, but I don’t think we should pat ourselves on the back too much for electing a minority into office. Sorta the same thing with women backing Palin just because she was a woman—hello, what about the issues?

  6. Ding.

    We’re awesome. When we’re both 35, let’s run for president/VP as a split ticket.

Leave a Reply

