Feelings of Home

So, we went home to Iowa for Thanksgiving last week. I’ve been mulling over what to say about it, but all I keep coming up with is this: It was awesome.

I had no idea how stressed and wound up I was until I got a mental and physical vacation. When I got back to DC, I still had the same amount of crap to deal with as I did when I left, but my stress level has remained steady. Even-keel. Non-existent.

See…it’s become apparent that being thousands of miles away from the people you care most about isn’t the ideal way to live. This doesn’t signal any geographical changes in the short-term…but I’m excited about the idea of what’s to come.

Until then, I’m doing my best to hold on to these feelings of home.

4 responses to “Feelings of Home

  1. As unbelievably trite as it is to say so: home is where the heart is.

    That’s why I’m going.

  2. I have to second that. I too look forward to the day when I move home.

  3. Are you Ok out there in DC? You do a post like this and then we don’t hear from you for a week…I’m starting to worry my bloggin buddy! I’m glad to hear you had a good Thanksgiving here in the Hawkeye state but sorry we didn’t get to hook up. What are your plans for New Years? Bethany and Bob are going to be in Iowa City and you are officially invited! The more the merrier!

  4. Do not fear! Things are going well out here. Work has been kicking me in the pants and I’m in the midst of moving, Christmas shopping, etc. so blogging has fallen to the bottom of my priorities. šŸ™‚

    I’ll be back home the 20th-27th…which means I won’t be able to hang for New Years, but I’m planning to see Beth in CF. We’ll have to talk more about your Christmas plans; I might pop down to IC on Tuesday the 23rd.

Leave a Reply

