27 Candles

I usually likebirthdays, but this year I’ve been kind morose about it, for dumb reasons that I won’t go into here.

So as part of my strategy to build excitement for the day, I decided not to open any presents early. (Some arrived quite early, making this very difficult.) This strategy, combined with a little talking-to from friends, has gotten me a little bit more in the birthday spirit. D is meeting me here in a few minutes and we’re heading to Dino for some fine italian and great wine. (Dino is one of the first restaurants D took me in DC and I have a soft spot for it.) After that, we’re coming home to open gifts and make one of my favorite, all-time desserts: S’mores.

We’ll extend the celebration with some friends on Saturday, but this is exactly the kind of low-key birthday I was in the mood for.

Twenty-six was a great year for me, but I’m [now] feeling good about seeing it off and welcoming in what’s in store for year 27. Thanks for all your happy wishes via email, text, voicemail, song, dance and cupcakes. I might have played it cool, but it meant a lot to me. šŸ™‚

3 responses to “27 Candles

  1. Hope you have a great night out with D! I’ve been thinking of you today. šŸ™‚

  2. Happy Birthday Megan!!! Enjoy those “young years” šŸ™‚

  3. Thanks, you two! It was a nice night. And I fully plan on enjoying what’s left of my 20s.

Leave a Reply

