Here, Gone and Back Again

I couldn’t have asked for a better Saturday.

We got in to Lexington late Friday night and were up early Saturday morning for the best yoga class I’ve ever been to. I had reservations about bikram yoga (hot), but I’ve never felt better. I’m looking forward to finding a hot yoga studio here in DC and, hopefully, becoming above average at it.

Despite wanting to take a nap after having massages, we pushed through and made it to the Woodford Reserve distillery for a tour. I’m not a big bourbon fan, but the grounds were gorgeous and we had a good time. (More photos and details on Flickr.)

woodford reserve1

The distillery was about 25 miles outside of Lexington, which provided for some really awesome scenery. Aside from the massive horse farms and stone walls, the rolling, lush hills of Kentucky reminded us a lot of Iowa.

lexington1

We made it to the wedding in plenty of time, a casual affair held outdoors at a historic site near Lexington (of which I don’t know the significance, but it was beautiful).

wedding1

After some live bluegrass, drinking [more] Kentucky bourbon and hanging out with D’s old friend from Korea (I love saying that—sounds like the war, right?), we packed it in and readied ourselves for a morning trip back to DC.

Which is where we are right now; D at his place catching up on work, and me at mine, where I’m packing up the house in preparation for our move next Saturday. More on that soon.

Hope you all had lovely weekends and are feeling ready to tackle another week! (Said with gusto, to help convince myself that I’m ready to tackle another week.)

Leave a Reply

