Major Milestone

My grandpa turned 90 today; can you believe it? I’m still dumbfounded by the breadth of things he’s experienced in his life. Can you imagine getting paid a nickel to mow the cemetery (outside of which the KKK would burn crosses) and using an iPhone (which he called “a miracle”)?

Though I was much to0 immature to appreciate it at the time, I’m pretty lucky to have had him tote me to morning coffees with his retired teacher friends; legislative meetings on environmental issues at the Iowa State Capitol (how silly/cute must that have looked?) and cross-country trips to expand my wee little horizons.

I can’t wait to see him (and Grandma, here in green slacks) in two short weeks.

Leave a Reply

