Cool Conversation

Single female colleague (whose hyphenated last name is 29 characters long): Just read your blog post.
Me: Yes?
SFC: You’re not changing your name [once married] are you?
Me: Actually, yes.

<crickets>

We could talk name-changing convention until the end of time. But at the end of the day, it’s a personal choice and I think it’s odd to give someone grief about it.

Besides…she never asked what I’m changing it to.

3 responses to “Cool Conversation

  1. It is totally odd to give grief about that. Totally a personal choice, I didn’t change my name until months after the wedding, waited til it felt right šŸ™‚

  2. Yeah! I like that. I know someone who waited seven or eight years before she changed hers. Whatever floats your boat.

    I still get fired up about this.

  3. Having a short last name is in some ways a lot easier than dealing with a ridiculously long, hyphenated last name. It’s also great if your last name is already long and you can ‘upgrade’ to a shorter last name once you get married. My sister changed her last name to a shorter one just because it was more convenient.

Leave a Reply

