Radio Silence and Giving Thanks

I’ve tried to break radio silence a couple of times, but it always seemed sort of maudlin or self-pitying, which I find dumb and unconstructive.

So, instead of focusing on the sad stuff or what our first holiday as a modified family has been like, I thought I’d share a few personal photos from over the years.

Shortly before three became four.

My endlessly cute brothers.

Ninja Turtles at the local video store, obv. (Please note that Chris brought his sword.)

Me before my church confirmation. I snuck out of the house the night before. And got caught. Following my confirmation, I was grounded for three weeks. I still have no idea how my parents survived my puberty.

I’m not sure how my brother survived it, either.

And what’s a trip down memory lane without a baby photo of the author?

I think it’s fair to say that we’re all struggling to find some footing. But managing. And still feel a whole heap of gratefulness.

2 responses to “Radio Silence and Giving Thanks

  1. Sheryl (Brandy Whalen's Mom)

    I have to say I’ve really missed your blog updates. Very sorry to hear about your family struggles. It’s never easy no matter when it may happen. My folks went through this as well when I was close to 30 yrs. old and was very hard for us kids also. Hang in there!!

    • Hi Sheryl! Thanks for your sweet comment. I think I was stuck on what to say. Despite a tough couple of weeks, there’s a lot of good in my life. The juxtaposition can sometimes be hard to explain. But I feel like I’ve turned a corner (of sorts) and am looking forward to getting back in the blogging swing of things.

Leave a Reply

