Pet Peeve

No, let’s call it a “serious aggravation.”

That thing: people making reference to “babysitting” their own child.

Isn’t that called “parenting?” Am I crazy, or is caretaking part of the gig when you opt to have a kid?

Not to throw dads to the wolves here, but I hear it most from them. “My wife’s getting coffee with her friends; I’m babysitting Jane today,” or, “I’m working full-time from home, (minus time for babysitting).”

I [gently] called out a male colleague on the latter this morning (response: crickets). Be mad if you want; but it’s a responsibility, not a part-time job.

3 responses to “Pet Peeve

  1. Ha!!! This is one of my biggest pet peeves too and I’ve only heard dad’s say this. I don’t thing a mom would ever say that she’s babysitting when it’s her own children. Matt learned early on NOT to say that cause it drives me crazy…it’s not babysitting when it’s your own children!!!

  2. Sheryl (Brandy Whalen's Mom)

    AMEN, to that one!!!!! REALLY makes me mad when men say that and my husband was one of them years ago. ) :

  3. Glad I’m not alone on this. I think my blood pressure went up just thinking back to this post!

Leave a Reply

