New Music Tuesday: High Hopes

Last Spring, I may have attended a party in Steamboat Springs, Colo. after a few days wrecking my body on a snowboard. At said party, I may have imbibed a bit too much and surprised my now-fiancé by getting lyrical with “Lodi Dodi” in the middle of the kitchen.

I might have repeated the performance at a karaoke bar last summer. What can I say? I love old-school hip hop but stopped listening to new R&B and hip hop when I left college. I still enjoy a Jay-Z track from time to time, but for the most part new tracks strike me as repetitive, and the new players strike me as too aggressive. (Here’s looking at you, Chris Brown.)

It has to be the retro sound that has me playing Onra’s “High Hopes” on repeat. Which makes it my NMT pick. So go on. Add a little funk to your afternoon.

Leave a Reply

